What is the difference between deleting a library item and removing it from a collection?
In Paperless, there are two ways to delete a file:
- Press the Delete key on your keyboard.
- Right-click on a library item and select Delete from the contextual menu.
Deleting an item from a collection does not remove it from your library completely.
If you do attempt to delete a library item in a collection (a statical collection), Paperless will remove the library item from the current collection, but will not remove it from your library completely. It will still show under Library (and, if it has not yet been removed from Inbox, in Inbox, as well).
Deleting an item from anywhere else removes it completely.
Deleting a library item from any of the following locations will remove it from your library completely:
- All smart collections under Recent Documents (Today, This Week, This Month, Last Week, Last Month, etc.)
- Any user-defined smart collection (any smart collection you create)
For more information on the difference between collections, smart collections, and folders, see this knowledge base article.